The Write Place- Curtis Bruce Kessler

May 1, 2012

Pot Pie

Filed under: Uncategorized — cbkessler @ 4:40 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was about ten years old when my dad taught me how to cook and fend for myself during the summer days I was out of school. He had been raising me on his own for several years by that time. I learned how to cook spaghetti and ravioli real well.

Special thanks to Chef Boyardee.

I also learned how to fry eggs and bacon. Sometimes I liked to fry some ham and make a ham sandwich with mustard on toast. Dad was superb at cooking a roast but that was way too complicated for me at the time. For some reason dad went hog wild over those pre-fabricated pot pies. Two to three times a week he threw them in the oven. I despised those things. They were weird tasting plus I believed something lived in them that was nasty and mean. A pot pie night was the worse. The vision I had during those nights was chunking the pot pie in the air and blasting it to bits with dad’s shotgun.

Boom!

The annihilation of all pot pies had begun. I could even visualize the robot from Lost in Space wiggling his tiny mechanical arms in panic shouting, “Danger Will Robinson, Danger!” To this day I simply cannot bring myself to eat a pot pie. Something comes over me.

A pot pie in and of itself is an innocent creation. There was no hidden agenda behind the designers. This wasn’t a cruel joke perpetrated by goblins. This wasn’t cooked up by a secret Government organization deep in the mountains of Colorado to turn people into zombies. This wasn’t the recipe of a legion of grinning demons. The real fact is a pot pie was brought together with the best intentions and nobility of human ingenuity. Yet, for me, even the best intentions are sometimes ill advised and untimely.

The scriptures say that everything God created was good. This is true until man decides to tinker with it. There are a few of God’s marvelous creation in the world of cooking that mankind has simply fouled up. Take liver for instance. Who was the first deranged person to decide to thrust that foul meat on a grill or on a frying pan? My poor dear stepmom was determined to teach me to eat that fiendish organ. She failed miserably. Who was the mad genius to decide that chocolate ice cream mixed with nuts and cappuccino would be a delightful desert? It tastes like turpentine for goodness sake!

Here’s the thing. No matter how much I distaste these foods I should always be thankful. Someone out there loves the very foods I despise.

We live in this fantastic world where God had granted us the privilege to develop and eat foods in a variety of ways. We all may have different tastes but all of us are blessed. Listen, “Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.” (Acts 14:17)

Amen!

Are you thankful? Do you praise God only when your belly is filled? Does food control you? “For God’s kingdom does not consist of food and drink, but of righteousness, peace, and joy produced by the Holy Spirit.” (Ro.14:17). Only when you taste the Bread of Life (Jesus Christ) from above will you ever be truly satisfied and have the endurance to run the race to the end. “Do not work for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you. For on him God the Father has set his seal.” (John 6:27).

Yours, Bruce

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

