The Write Place- Curtis Bruce Kessler

August 22, 2017

Freedom and Liberty

Filed under: Uncategorized — Curtis Bruce Kessler @ 3:03 am
Tags: , , , ,
 austria

In 1730 my relatives lived under the shadow of the majestic mountains surrounding Salzburg, Austria.  Under great persecution at that time by the Catholic church for their religious beliefs they heard of a new world, a place to worship freely, a place to be free of the burden of brutality and  oppression.

So they acted.

Leaving behind their homeland, leaving the splendid hills decorated with yellow and blue wild flowers, imposing yet beautiful mountains, streams of pure water, tall majestic pines, and villages.

They would leave all this behind.

My wife and I were privileged to travel to Salzburg recently.  Walked down the same roads my early descendants traveled. I viewed the same amazing hills and mountains they woke up to every morning and that has captured the hearts of many in the movie/musical The Sound of Music. 

I had to ask myself what is the price of freedom?  What is life worth when you are given an opportunity to live?  I wondered to myself, how daunting the task must have been to leave behind familiar things!  How daunting and oh my the cost of giving up everything in order to gain freedom based on a message that promised genuine liberty!

Yet, based on that glorious message they acted.

I was deeply moved to reflect on the liberty and the religious freedom I enjoy today.  I had to ask myself what cost have I had to endure for this privilege?   What price have I paid to gain this freedom?  What would I be willing to give up? Everything that is familiar to me?  Would I be willing to leave behind the comforts of home? How valuable is freedom to me?  How valuable is truth to me?

Yet, above all, this is precisely the struggle and cause of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

The glorious message of the cross is that “…God demonstrated His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us. Much more then, having been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him” Romans 5:8-9.  Just as importantly Jesus says “If anyone desires to come to me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?” Matthew 16:24,26.

Freedom and life is the Gospel message.  But.

How far are you willing to go to accept this gift? Your life? Your home? Your comfort zone?

Am i really prepared to act and take up His cross and follow Him? Through oceans, meadows, mountains, countries, villages, states, counties, leaving behind one life to gain Christ?

Are you?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

